Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unigraphics vs. SolidWorks??

Status
Not open for further replies.

DanielleBacon

Mechanical
Apr 8, 2004
GB
Hi All,
I currently use SolidWorks 2005. I'm looking into using Unigraphics. I've never used this package before. Is it similar to SolidWorks at all? I know that SolidWorks and Solid Edge and ProE are all very similar...as in the basic modelling is the same. But i have heard nothing about Unigraphics. Is one more highly regarded than the other? Or is one more specific to a particular industry? If anyone can give me any advice it would be appreciated!

Cheers,
Danielle

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi,
question is: why would you shift to UG?
Are there parts of your job for which SW is unadequate? If so, which ones? Do you plan to expand activity in fields where you already know that SW won't be able to accomplish the work? Are you part of a manufacturing chain where machining post-pro or other aspects are necessary? Which software(s) do your suppliers/customers use, that you may consider to "match" in order to better interoperate? etc...
As you already know and use SW, my opinion is that you should have a strong reason to change (or, it may be a simple question of "feeling": I personally can't stand SolidEdge, but it's my personal opinion and not really based on the software's capabilities).
BTW, I really don't find that SW is extremely similar to SE, even less that it is similar to Pro/E, and it won't be similar to UG or Catia. What these softwares share is the working phylosophy and the basic principles, and some common aspects of the GUI as well.

Regards