Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Unqualified personnel reviewing engineers' plans 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

PaulDWilson

Civil/Environmental
Dec 18, 2002
US
Does anybody else feel disturbed that unqualified people can review an engineer's plans and make comments that more often than not have to be addressed for a plan approval?

I am a civil engineer in Pennsylvania that is responsible for land development plans. In my area, we submit plans to the local municipality for their Engineer's review. The plan goes in front of the municipal planning commission and/or Board of Supervisors who take input from the staff (engineer and zoning officer) before rendering opinions and decisions.

Part of our process also requires submission of a plan to the local County Planning Commission. The County Planning Commission staff makes comments and often we are responsible for making changes based on these comments. The County has NO engineer and the staff is made up of people that have no form of professional registration or professional organization affiliation. It also seems that they have no requirements for the job. Anybody that can read an ordinance is qualified. And often times, by municipality ordinance, County comments have to be addressed before a plan can be approved.