Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Upper case letters and spaces in File Names 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

MFDO

Mechanical
Aug 10, 2005
CA
Are Upper case letters, spaces and long File Names against NX's best practices?

Michael Fernando (CSWE)
Tool and Die Designer
Siemens NX V8.5 + PDW
SWX 2013 SP3.0 X64
PDMWorks 2013
Logopress3
FastForm Advance
FormatWorks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

While many of us 'old timers' (I've been using UG/NX for nearly 37 years), purely out of habit, may tend to avoid using spaces in files names, that's really no longer an issue with today's operating systems. And the same holds true for using mixed case letters as well, just as long as you remember that for file names, the case does not make a file name unique. In other words, you can't have two files in the same folder if the only difference in their names is the case of the letters used. For example, 'bracket.prt' is the same as 'Bracket.prt'.

John R. Baker, P.E.
Product 'Evangelist'
Product Engineering Software
Siemens PLM Software Inc.
Industry Sector
Cypress, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

To an Engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

I still recommend that you try stay away from spaces and definitely non-ascii characters. Upper-lower case doesn't matter.
you might find some situation where spaces aren't accepted or the usage of them makes life more than necessary difficult.
Regards,
Tomas

Toost,
Do you see it as an issue within NX or externally like in at file translations or at integration with third party software?

Would you be able to give some instances or share some of your experiences please?

Michael Fernando (CSWE)
Tool and Die Designer
Siemens NX V8.5 + PDW
SWX 2013 SP3.0 X64
PDMWorks 2013
Logopress3