Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Using of ltcs for short period of time for process less than minus 50 degrees to 100 degrees

Status
Not open for further replies.

plasticnoob

Industrial
Apr 26, 2011
SG
Hi all,

I am a mechanical engineer from the petrochemical industries and was task to design some temporary piping for the decon of my plant.

My query comes where I was asked to use SS304 of ss316 for a certain service that is between -50 degrees to -100 degrees. I have done my research and understand that ltcs (low temp carbon steel) can only take up to -45 degrees. However if I am just using for short time (3-7 days) is there any concern of using ltcs instead. The cost of materials and welding ss is much higher than ltcs and I would like to reduce the cost

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Doesnt souund like a good idea to me. Apart from what George said below, you should take into account that the applicable Code requirements which in this case most likely would be B31.3 para 323.2.2(d)(e), referring to fig 323.2.2B note (b); the stress ratio may max. be 0.3.

If your plant manager is willing to take on some risk, talk to your materials selection engineer and a senior process engineer( who should both be familiar with ways of mapping out an operating window with constraints imposed in these circumstances to handle these low temp brittle failure risks), and the process safety engineer to see if this is possible. A mini hazop audit may also be necessary.

I loath the word "temporary" in the context of piping or operations when dealing with hydrocarbons as it leads to these exact issues where people try to reduce cost, reduce inspections and essentially operate much closer to the wind than they would do if this was "permanent".