Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Using the Title Engineer Loosely 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

FootNMouth

Structural
Feb 25, 2013
US
I am a graduate engineer for a reputable structural engineering firm. My working title at the company will be graduate engineer until I become a licensed engineer. My gripe is that I see contractors place the title engineer on everything, i.e. project engineer, field engineer, etc. I understand that these people bring their own unique skills and are a pivotal role in the success of a construction project but is there no sanctity in the title engineer? We do not call everyone in the health industry doctors because there is an inherent respect for a person who has put in the time and effort to deserve that title. I will now step off of my soap box but I just wanted to see if there was similar discontent in the "engineering" community.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In many jurisdictions it is illegal to have the word "engineer" in the name of a company unless there is indeed a licensed engineer on the staff. I know several companies that had to pay large fines and change their name. But no such restriction exists on the use of that title in individual job descriptions that I'm aware of. Sad, but true.

If you really don't have anything better to do with your time and you don't care whether you make enemies, then, by all means, you should report all them bastiches to your state board.

I should point out that we have a local company called, "Lawn Doctor," and "doctoring" a document is not a thing to be proud of.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!

Sanitation Engineer = garbage man/woman. That's the ultimate insult.

Good luck,
Latexman

Technically, the glass is always full - 1/2 air and 1/2 water.