Value of Young Engineer 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

FootNMouth

Structural
Feb 25, 2013
US
All,

Every year I get glowing reviews from my project managers telling me that I am exceeding expectations and ahead of the pack in regards to my peers, however I do not feel that this is being adequately portrayed to my boss whom I have never worked with directly. I am basing this on the fact that I have only received standard raises and bonuses as well as recognition. I believe this is largely due to the fact that we are a large company and for the most part, salary and responsibilities correlate with years of experience until you become a seasoned project manager and can bring in work and profit. My questions is, is this standard procedure for engineering firms or should I begin looking for employment elsewhere, where outstanding performance is valued more from younger engineers?

Background: I am a structural engineer with four years of experience working at a large structural engineering firm in the US. I will be sitting for the PE exam this April. I have aspirations to be a great engineer and business man and would not be opposed to venturing out on my own one day.

Thank you for any tips or advice you can offer.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

After you take and pass the PE exam you should tell your boss that you are a PE. Do not expect a bonus/raise; do not even ask for one. If they appreciate you, they will give you what they see fit.

If you do not receive a bonus/raise, you should immediately start looking for a new job. Make sure you are selling yourself as a PE.
If you do get a bonus/raise, then you should decide if it is enough. If it is not, then ask for more or go somewhere new.

As far as venturing out on your own - I did not feel ready the first day I was a PE.

Thanks Swiver. I agree, I will not be ready to venture out on my own after passing the PE. I feel that I would need around 8 of experience before even considering it.