Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Valve flow testing suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NaterC

Mechanical
Mar 23, 2010
US
I'm a new engineer for a small LPG/NH3 gas connections company. I've been tasked with developing a battle plan for a new flow test bench for our various lines of valves and connectors. We make a lot of filler valves, globe & angle valves, safety relief valves, etc from less than an inch on up to 3" inlet/outlets.

The whole point of being able to flow test is so that we can get an idea on the performance of our valves before sending them off for U.L. approval, and most importantly, before they're released for production. We'd like to have it in house to avoid the costs of sending them out to be tested, along with avoiding having to re-submit to U.L. and the like.

I figure my first step is to choose a pump, so lets start there. The envelope I'm looking at is hopefully to be able to hit 200 PSI and 300 GPM+, but not necessarily at the same time.

Any suggestions? I've looked at some pumps from Blackmer, I figure they're the real world use pumps that our products work with, they would be ideal to use in flow testing right?

All help is much appreciated,

Nathan

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What's the purpose of the flow test?

E.g. if you just want to know the valve's Cv, you don't have to test it over its entire operating range, or at its highest flow rate.

If water is okay as a test fluid, a sprinkler pump recirculating into a tank, a pressure gage, a bucket and a watch would comprise a basic but sufficient test rig.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

First off I guess I should mention that the valve of interest is a bypass valve, but we'll also be testing a multitude of globe & angle valves in various sizes, filler valves, etc, etc.