Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Vapor Recovery Piping 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

starscreamer

Mar 11, 2013
MY
Hi there,

I am a fresh design engineer working with aluminium tanker manufacturer. My superior asked me this question regarding vapor recovery.

" Why vapor recovery pipe being installed inside the barrel of the tanker?"

Hope that somebody will help me regarding this matter.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Because that's where the vapour is??

Very vague question so very vague answer. If you want more input supply more details or drawing / sketch. It's very easy to upload a file but gives people much more to chew on.

My motto: Learn something new every day

Also: There's usually a good reason why everyone does it that way

The liquid transfer from the tanker to the storage tank or viceversa generates vapour pressure differential. To prevent the collapse of the tanker or the storage tank, the vapour space between the tanker and storage tank is connected via fixed and/or flexible piping, thus equalizing the vapour pressure. This will also prevent the venting of dangerous vapours, like fuel vapour which could ignite and causing the explosion of the tanker and the storage tank. Please note that every country in the world has a dangerous goods handling code/standard which stipulates the above description as mandatory regulations.
Cheers,
gr2vessels

LittleInch

Thanks for replying but i find that your answer is really not matured at all. As an engineer, you should at least have some info on what you're going to talk instead of just give some random answer, and if you don't fully understand, don't be so arrogant.