Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

variable speed drives 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

AT1000

Electrical
Feb 2, 2002
GB
can you explain in general terms, say for the eurotherm 690 ac drive the functions required to control the drive output from an outside source 0-10 volts and how to use the digital outputs when the drive is enabled. AS you can see I'm new to the use of ac drives but have installed quite a few as long as they only use the speed pot. I need to understand the meaning of analog 1, analog 2, and how and what is 4-20 ma used for control. Deseperate for some good info. to understand general usage. Also to replace a dc drive with an ac motor is there any general rating formula when all the info. you have is on the motor plate. Please assist where possible.
thanks
tom

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The motor speed (the drive output frequency and voltage) is a function of the speed reference.
The speed reference is normally connected to the drive as analog input, which is normally 0-10 V DC or 4-20 mA DC. The 0-volt or 4- mA equal the minimum speed (this parameter set in the drive software), the 10 volt or 20 mA is equal the maximum speed.
The 4-20 mA signal is mostly used because this signal is less sensitive for the electrical noise, and in some applications less than 4 mA can indicate the loss of speed reference. The 4-20 mA signal is converted to 1- 5 volt DC or 2 -10 volt DC signal using either a 250 ohm or 500 ohm burden resistor at the analog input.
The analog 1 and analog 2 are independent analog inputs which can be used for speed or torque control (based an the configuration and application).