Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Vehicle Collision to building

Status
Not open for further replies.

architrave

Structural
Aug 21, 2008
US
Hello! I am an architect and I would like to ask you a question. Yesterday a small SUV (Ford Escape) crashed into a friend of my client's pizza place crashing the store front glass and its frames. I spoke with a DOB inspector who was at the scene and he wanted to submit a report for the structural stability. I went there this morning and looked around the area of the damage and found it doesn't seem to have any visible structural damage. Thankfully the suv's front tire hit the 8" high concrete stoop that this storefront was sitting on and the front of the car hit the storefront that was set about 16" beyond this 8" ledge.
Building is 2 story in height with masonry bearing walls and with wood joists which is built in 1934 . It is within a rowhouse type development with common party walls that are about 25' apart.

My question is 1) Should I approach this report with series of calculation : which I have no idea how to analytically describe the event except to show the assumed impact energy of the collision and have this force (?) applied to the cantilevered foundation. Alternatively, I could approach this report as simply being descriptive compilation of my observation and draw conclusion that no damage was done to the building's structure.

2) In 1934's masonry building, did they used metal ties for the brick veneer? The building seems it is either 4" + 8" wall with collar joints. It is not a veneer rather it is a composite wall and my question is did they use any reinforcement back then for these kind of construction in NYC?

Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you