Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

(Velcro) Hook and Loop strength calculations under G force

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aus Inam

Sep 8, 2020
AU
Hi Everyone,

I am a trainee engineer working on a design to come up with a pouch(camouflaged) that is secured using a hook and loop method to another bag(green). Please refer to the attached pics.

Bag2_yz4wuy.jpg

Velcro_specs_wlb8ez.jpg

I am trying to work out if the pouch would hold under severe G forces.
I have the total mass of the pouch, the dimensions, area and material specifications of the Velcro and would like to know at what force would the bag come undone in following situations:

1)8G vertical Force
2)4G lateral force

Would be greatly appreciated if I could have the right formulae to tackle this problem.

Inam

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Test it!
If you were getting good guidance from your mentor, and remember your high school physics, you could be done in 10 minutes (most of it spent checking the calibration sticker on the pull-scale. Hint-hint)

You forgot the forward and rearward load cases.

Because velcro degrades with use, this pouch cannot move once stowed, or else you will commit your project to a long-term reliability test.

Because velcro is flammable, you also need a burn test. Reference Apollo 1. Velcro is the same product it was in the 1960's.

Because velcro can be mis-aligned but still seem fastened, you need to add a method to assure alignment of the two strips.

For this reason (and probably more that don't yet come to mind) engineers in aviation NEVER USE VELCRO to restrain items of mass in a cabin. NEVER.

There are alternatives and I would encourage you to examine your aircraft for preferable locations to stow this item.

thanks SparWeb.