Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Very low friction rotary shaft seals or systems

Status
Not open for further replies.

bobp

Mechanical
Dec 13, 2001
US
I am an artist wishing to improve the weatherproof rotary shaft seals on outdoor kinetic scuplture.

I need to seal 3/8" and 1/2" stainless steel precision ground shaft exposed to the elements in any climate and at any angle. e.g. -40F to 140F, 0 psi, rainproof.

The lip seals I have tested have a high coefficient of friction for my needs since they are designed for pressure.

Any very low friction rotary shaft system will be considered, loads are from 1 to 30lbs currently.

Any suggestions for a simple, scalable solution, or resources for further information would be greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Dear Bobp

Here are some quick sugestions, which may be useful if
your designing from scratch, less so if your retro fitting.

1) Use a stainless steel deep groove ball bearings with 2Z
bearing shields. These are noncontact sheilds wich keep the lubricating grease captured and dirt out. The very small clearance will also tend to resist the ingress of water through capiliary action. They are usualy prepacked with grease, however you should be able to specify one with a suitable temperature range. I have used such bearings on
rollers of cooling tanks for the extrusion of plastic profiles where verry low rolling resistance in a wet environment is required.

2) Same as above but use units with low friction contact seals. If the friction is still too great try running in the bearing before use ( ie for 100hrs, this is a guess).

The advantage of using a sealed bearing is that tolerancing
and alignment issues are taken care of, wrt the seal so you