Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

very simple built-up back pressure question and isolation 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrwchem

Chemical
Feb 12, 2006
CA
Hello,

I am very new to safety valve sizing. I had 2 questions i hope someone could help me with:

1) How do you calculate the built-up back pressure required for the sizing of a psv when you dont know the size of the psv? I thought the built-up back-pressure would be a function of valve size.

2) Is there any advice on isolating a psv for maintance while the unit is still in service? I think the short answer is dont do it, but i would like to offer some alternatives as well. I am seeing a second psv in parallel but that might be considered an 'expensive' solution.

Many thanks,

jrw

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Built-up back pressure is calculated based on the valve's relieving capacity (not the required capacity but the calculated capacity for the actual area selected).

Essentially, for an atmospheric relief, it's the backpressure at the valve outlet required to flow the valve's capacity to atmosphere through the exit piping to atmosphere.

If you are discharging to a closed system, it's also the pressure required to get the PSV's capacity through the relief system to wherever it's going, flare, etc. The total backpressure is the sum of the built-up backpressure plus any static pressure that may exist in the flare/relief system.