Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

VFD Motor and Drive compatibility 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

PDS68

Electrical
Feb 18, 2004
US
All - I am very new to VFD drives and VFD type motors. I am trying to help someone solve a problem with both. He is using ABB ACH 400 Drives with dv/dt filters installed. each vfd has 8 motors attached. He thought that the motors he is using were "vfd rated" or "inverter compatible" but it turns out that they are standard motors. They have had about 10% failure rate of these motors mostly on startup. The motors are .5 HP 200-230/460 3 phase with class B insulation. We have talked with some motor experts and they say they do not show the "typical" signs of VFD compatibiltiy failures. His customer is insisting the he change to VFD rated motor to fix the problem. In reading this forum I am not convinced that the rating of the motor is the issue. Any advice?

Thanks.
P

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

PDS68,

It can sometimes be difficult to find inverter rated motors in small sizes. The extra insulation simply takes too much place. I am not sure if that is a problem with 1/2 hp motors - it definitely is with 1/4 hp.

Eight motors on one VFD. That means that you have to run the inverter in scalar (U/f) mode. Not vector. It also means that your motor protection has to be outside the inverter (one thermal for each motor). The built-in protection cannot protect the eight motors individually.