Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Volume of GAS 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

hillimonster

Electrical
Mar 26, 2004
US
This may be a simple question, but for me I'm not sure what formula(s) to follow.

If I have a 30 Gal tank with a 50% mix of helium and air at 100 psi and I add 100% helium up to 200 psi. What is the volume of helium I have added.

I'm a controls engineer by trade and if I add a feature like this without the Math being right, I open up a hole can of worms with the Mechanical Types.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Your question has little or nothing to do with math but has a lot to do with basic data. You'd better clear up your basic data before any of the guys on this forum start to work their calculators. Otherwise, you're going to get a myriad of answers -any of which could be the right one, or out in left field, somewhere.

1) You say 50% mix; % of what? is it volume or mass? (hint: the easiest would be volume)
2) You say you add 100% Helium. Do you mean you double the amount of original He+air mix - or do you mean that you double the amount of original He? Be specific, please.
3) What is the temperature of the original mix at 100 psi(g?)? Again, BE SPECIFIC! It makes a big difference if the "psi" is gauge or absolute!
4) How is it that you know that the subsequent additional Helium will result in a 200 psi(g?) pressure? Is the final temperature the same as the initial?

As you can see, there are a lot of gaps in the basic data. What specifically is this application for or what does it involve? Is it an academic, laboratory, or industrial application?

I'll await your response.

Art Montemayor
Spring, TX

Sorry for lack of specifics.