Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Wanna be engineer preparing for FE needs help with basics 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tate6

Industrial
Apr 4, 2019
HK
Hi. I want to take the FE but I studied economics in college back in the 1980's. (Yes I'm in my late 50's!) Because I don't have an engineering degree, would the classes from School of PE or PPI help? I think they are review classes so does that mean they would be over my head because I never took engineering classes before? If so where else can I learn the basic materials? BTW I took and failed the diagnostic tests in one review book. Thanks.

Have you been working in an engineering/technical role in industry? If you haven't been working in the industry I'd expect you'd need significant class time to brush up or even learn the basics for whichever field you want to pursue.

I have not been working in the field at all. Im hoping I can just take the FE Other Disciplines test.

They may be slightly outdated now, but search for the Texas A&M FE review videos.

----
The name is a long story -- just call me Lo.

Most university engineering depts. today should have a breakdown on their website of what classes they recommend students take each year of their attendance, and what others are required for a specific degree. Short of going back to college, you could use one of these lists as guidance and simply take MOOCs to learn the material, there's a number of free sites like Coursera that will offer the bulk of the courses necessary. These sites typically make money by offering some form of certificate for each class, I haven't asked any of my academia friends if those could count toward a degree or otherwise but I'd doubt it so beware paying for anything. Free knowledge is always good tho and best of luck going forward.