Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wanting to Learn GD&T 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

chicopee

Mechanical
Feb 15, 2003
US
A cousin of mine has expressed an interest about drafting and GD&T. I have suggested that he checks out GD&T training from Tec-Ease, Inc.. I graduated in M.E. back in the '60's and drafting was one requirement in the curriculum but GD&T had not yet evolved. Personally I get interested and learn some aspects of GD&T from Tec Ease monthly tips eventhough I am not proficient at it which does not affect my ACAD drafting since I do Civil drafting.
I would like to know how you, the responders, view Tec Ease as a training tool or would it be better for young people to enroll in a drafting program from accredited institutions.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Based on the p@#s-poor drawings I see created (and approved) by engineers every day, I think that there is still a place for proper drafting instruction. Companies may be using fewer "drafters" by having engineers do their own drawings, but that in no way lessens the importance of capturing design intent clearly and concisely.
That said, I am doubtful that a drafting class would cover GD&T in the depth desirable for proper useage.

"Good to know you got shoes to wear when you find the floor." - [small]Robert Hunter[/small]

I graduated with my bachelor's in 2005 and didn't have much drafting in my classes. We had a class that required producing "pretty" drawings by hand. However, I don't recall any classes discussing practices that actually lead to the "best" drawing or most clearly shows what is desired. And I don't think I ever even saw GD&T symbols and requirements until after graduation.