Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Waste water BS&W procedure

Status
Not open for further replies.

LPLP

Industrial
Aug 5, 2020
DE
I'm a consulting engineer helping to get a waste water treatment plant operational. No sewage, just water to clean up. BS&W testing on incoming water is mandatory. Occasionally, totally black water comes in and it is difficult to ascertain a good value of solids content. Certainly, after the test is performed, the water clears up and I can see the aggregate suspended solids plus prior solids, but I want a good number for solids, too. There really doesn't seem to be a good solution to timely determine this. Does anyone have any suggestions on an optimal method for determining solids content of the black water prior to centrifuging?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You can do a test the same as determining MLSS in activated sludge. Put a mixed 100ml sample through a filter paper of a known weight . Bake out the moisture and weight it again. If you subtract the initial weight of the filter paper you can get the weight of the solids accumulated on the paper.
Is that what you are after?

Regards
Ashtree
"Any water can be made potable if you filter it through enough money"

You can generate a rating curve by measuring electrical conductivity and running a sample for total suspended solids. Common environmental probes measure electrical conductivity but report tss by using a factor of 0.5 and others use 0.33 as the factor.