Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Waste water low outflow to river

Status
Not open for further replies.

Traineespark

Electrical
Dec 23, 2022
IE
Hi guys I’m new to this forum. I’m an electrician in a large food plant in Ireland. We’ve been having an extremely difficult time with out waste water treatment plant. It is a very large treatment plant but I’m unsure of the daily flows in/out.

It is an activated sludge plant and capable of high out volumes but we are only managing 6 l/s but want 14 l/s which we cannot achieve. We are happy that mechanically/electrically the plant is fine.

We think biologically it’s not right. We have very low mlss and because of this we have stopped making sludge for the foreseeable.

Our 2 membrane tanks are outputting low litres per second and what I would love to know; is there a direct correlation between low mlss and low output?

Our clean water is pumped through the membranes and the muck is sent to make sludge. Which is stopped at present.

If I’m not being clear let me know and I’ll try my best to clarify.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

With your description, there is no way to know what is going on,

With the activated sludge process, influent flow will basically be the same as the influent. The MLSS should be at least 1,500 - 2,000 to operate properly. Less than this level, the system will not function and will result in poor or untreated effluent. If you don't have enough influent or process waste, the activated sludge will also operate poorly.

You need to obtain all of the process parameters and the discharge permit, and talk to a wastewater enginer.