Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Water Injection for NA Engines, any benefit? 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

zimbali

Automotive
Jun 2, 2003
CA
Hi,

Could anybody let me know if water injection can help to reduce the intake air temperature significantly in NA engines? I heard that it is mostly used in Turbocharged engines.

And if it is useful Practically, is there any way to make a DIY version on a low budget?

Engine: 1.6L, 112 BhP, compression ratio: 10.5

Cheers

You can live in your car, but you can't drive your House!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There have been a number of previous threads on water injection.

Please do a site search so we don't all have to do it over again.

Regards
pat pprimmer@acay.com.au
eng-tips, by professional engineers for professional engineers
Please see FAQ731-376 for tips on how to make the best use of Eng-Tips Fora.

Thanks Pat,

I went through the topics. As you suggested, most of the effect of WI is the story happening INSIDE THE COMBUSTION CHAMBER, where it helps to have more compression (or more advance) due to less knock.

There were also some suggestions to mix water with Methanol or Ethanol and then do the injection. Now I have a question based on these two factors:

Can I add methanol to my fuel tank instead of injecting it into the intake manifold, as we are not mainly using WI to cool down the intake temp but for knock resistance improvement.

Will there be any corossion issue with injectors by doing that?

Cheers

Water injection is not going to reduce induction temperatures, assuming the water temperature is at ambient. There is no mechanism to remove any heat from the system.

As Zimbali says, it can reduce the chances of detonation, but that is not what is being asked.