Water Tank Foundation Design Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kevin Lu

Civil/Environmental
Jul 7, 2023
US
Dear Professional Engineers,
I'm a student intern at a medium sized design and build firm.
My boss gives me another task on Outdoor Fire water tank foundation calculation.
My boss already hired a structure engineer to design the tank foundation, but seems like my boss doesn't like that version. (Design attached)
The tank is 185,700 Gallons 33' 0"D x 30'0"H 3308D Corrugated Steel Water Tank with Dome Roof.
Where can I start with?
I haven't learn anything on Anchors and tank foudnations at school.
I read the IFC (international Fire Code Sections 5704.2.9.1 through 5704.2.9.7.9, and NFPA 30 Chapter 22.5. But none of them provide me calculation steps or any equations. The NFPA 30 direct me to IBC code, but I didn't find anything there either.
Can you give me any hint to start with? Or any code section name to read?
Thanks,

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=e3cb9377-91db-47a9-b5af-0dc6a5243622&file=33'_foundation.jpg
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This a weird one. Why is your boss giving a messy design issue to an intern? Is it just to keep you busy? Is he expecting a big savings if you do it?
You're not going to find code direction for this. It's statics, but not even regular statics. The tank rings should take all the stresses. The anchors only take wind and seismic, which are small. I'd get the hoop stresses from a portion of the bottom tank ring. How much? Who knows? Put in the anchor bolts to take the hoop stresses in shear. The good news is that anchors in shear can be designed per ACI 318. Then use that portion of the hoop stresses to design the reinforcing in tension. Use a low allowable (16,000 psi), as all that tension will like to crack the concrete.
Hopefully, your design is three times the other guys, and your boss will stop delegating inappropriate work to interns.