Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

What am I? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Materials
Oct 5, 2004
CA
I am not 100% sure this is the right forum, but I'm sure it will do.

I went to school as a materials engineer, but my job now is almost entirely mechanical. People often ask what kind of engineer I am, and I have been saying materials, but really all work I do is along the lines of a mechanical engineer. In the future, when I apply to other jobs I'm wondering if I should say I am a materials engineer, or mechanical.

So, what type of engineer am I?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

We once had an electrical engineer who's degree was in Psychology. Another Pshych graduate I knew also became a structural engineer(he went back to school and got an MS in structural). They always referred to themselves as an engineer in their field of practice, not what their specific degrees were in.

Hmmm...maybe those Psych graduates got confused and felt there was a huge demand for counselling among engineers...no doubt they were right!

Your degree is irrelevant to your current job title, except as an amusing example of life changes.

Likewise, I haven't had a job description that matched my major in over 20 yrs. So, likewise, the current job description is what's important.

Moreover, your resume, if written clearly, will show what your progression is, and should also show what your major was in college.

TTFN

The two best "Software Engineers" I ever met - One had a degree in Oceanogrpahic engineering. The other had a degree in Chemistry.

The primary designer of the Altair computer - the "First" more-or-less mass-market personal computer - went back to school and is now a - - - - - Medical Doctor.

As IR Stuff said - Your degree is irrelevant to your current job title, except as an amusing example of life changes.