Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

What are good skills to learn? 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eleventy

Mechanical
May 31, 2010
US
So I am a recent grad who is attempting to improve his skills at his job. I have kind of an itemized list (beyond the obvious "know what you are doing").

1. Become very good using Excel - easy way to organize information that is used across all industries
2. Learn Spanish - I am working in SW Kansas and many of our workers who I will be supervising speak poor English
3. Become much more proficient at computer programming

#3 is where I would like some advice, what are the best computer programming languages to learn? Fortran seems to very widely used and it can be put into Matlab/scilab programs. Should I start with Java and move onto C# then to Fortran/Matlab?

I guess here are the problems I want to solve (which might help people to give advice). I basically want to model these new systems to give our customers a better idea of how to use them, then to compare the customer's use of the system through acquired data (I am not sure exactly how the output of this acquired data will be) to the model.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My advice is always to put Access in front of Excel. When I used to teach database theory, I divided all data into "sources" of data and "uses" of data. Excel is a really good use of data and a HORRIBLE source of data. Being really proficient in Access (which is an excellent place to store source data) will make a large percentage of jobs that would otherwise be difficult and tedious into something that involves more "using data for engineering" than "collecting an collating data".