Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What are some new directions for a 27yr old civil engineer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

scottm8

Civil/Environmental
Jun 7, 2011
Hello!

I've been working for 5 years solid in the geotech/environmental field (landfills, mine waste, tailings ponds, contaminated sites etc), and kind of lost interest in things that "stand still", like piles of dirt and concrete. I find myself fascinated by antennas, electromagnetism, and algorithm design (been teaching myself C, CUDA and basic signals processing). With just a BSCE and no family I am basically free to take a sharp turn in a new direction. Does anyone have any advice on how I can incorporate more technology into my career, preferably in a way that leverages my civil education and experience at least a little bit?

I'm considering geophysics (combines electrical and soils engineering), however that industry seems to be centered around Texas oil fields and I have zero interest in moving to a hot climate! Maybe materials science or electrical engineering? Would I just be wasting my newly earned Civil PE? I think my dream job would be R&D for a manufacturer. I love finding the most efficient way of doing things. My favorite thing about my current job is creating giant automated excel sheets that streamline design calculations.

Thanks for the advice!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You should seriously consider transmission tower engineering. It's a combination of Civil (ROW, wetlands, roads, vertical clearance, surveying, etc.), Structural (tower, cables), and Electrical (loads due to electrical conditions). This is in high demand now and pays relatively well, at least here in the Northeast US.