Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

what does schedule pipe mean? schedule 40, schedule 80 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

I am studying for the lubrication engineers exam and need to know more about "schedule pipe" what it means and what do they mean by schedule 40 and schedule 80

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

<br>
The pipe schedule refers to the pipe wall thickness. The higher the schedule, the thicker is the pipe wall. For example:<br>
<br>
2-inch nominal size steel pipe: schedule 40 has a wall thickness of 0.154 inches and schedule 80 has a wall thickness of 0.218 inches.<br>
<br>
4-inch nominal size steel pipe: schedule 40 has a wall thickness of 0.237 inches and schedule 80 has a wall thickness of 0.318 inches.<br>
<br>
As you can see, the relationship between schedule and wall thickness changes with the<br>
pipe nominal size.<br>
<br>
Table 6-6 in Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (Sixth Edition) provides the schedule thicknesses for steel pipe nominal sizes ranging from 1/8 of an inch to 30 inches. I am sure similar tabulations are available in other books as well. <p> Milton Beychok<br><a href=mailto:mbeychok@home.com>mbeychok@home.com</a><br><a href= Air Pollution Dispersion Modeling</a><br>Visit my website to learn about "Fundamentals of Stack Gas Dispersion", the most comprehensive book on air dispersion modeling of continuous, buoyant air pollution plumes. The site includes published peer reviews and the complete Table of Contents.<br>