Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What is technical role a mechanical engineer can do in oil & gas 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

engraptor

Mechanical
Nov 28, 2011
US
All,

I am a mechanical engineer working for an oil & gas company as a project engineer doing maintenance & expansion projects.

I feel my role is mostly baby sitting other engineers at consulting companies called EPCs (engineering procurement construction) who also just oversee vendors/OEMs(original equipment manufacturer).

I want to do design as opposed to "project management" which is all there is oil and gas for mechanical engineers.

Can any of the seniors please guide me in a possible technical career path within oil and gas, preferably working on owner(not EPC) side.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If you are interested in learning how the industry got into this untenable position I wrote a paper about it last year titled New Processes are Needlessly Reducing Recovery from Gas Fields. The frustration you are feeling is very widespread. 15 years ago the "company engineers as babysitters who only need to know Excel and PowerPontt (though Sudoku is a help)" was limited to the 5-6 majors. Today it is into the third tier of companies. I only see engineers finding projects, acquiring funding, participating in materials acquisition, hiring construction contractors, and supervising construction in companies that are small enough to be limited to a single basin. Even regional companies in a single country will tend to follow the PSM/Supply-Chain model that I describe in the linked article. About the only way to actually "engineer" in Oil & Gas is to move to a very small company.