what is the difference between a designer and an engineer 11

Status
Not open for further replies.

toro45

Electrical
Dec 16, 2003
US
hello;

i have worked for MEP(mechanical, electrical, plumbing) firm's for the past 5 years and I was wondering if anyone could clarify what the difference is between an engineer and a designer. I have always applied for positions as an engineer, because I have a degree in engineering, however I have come across designers with degrees. also designers seem to get paid less than engineers.
How would you write the job desciption of an engineer and that of a designer.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In my mind, an engineer takes on more of a 'project' role without being a project engineer. A designer would handle individual parts, whereas an 'engineer' would handle the entire assembly, and how it works with the surrounding environment. But, but - with each company - the definition is slightly different.

Here's a little cynicism for ya: a 'designer' is much less likely to be sued whereas an 'engineer' licensed or not, accepts a little more of the blame.