Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

What lateral loading do I apply to a playground structure in an existing building (Space Frame)? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike C

Structural
Aug 31, 2024
US
The plan checker is requesting a 3D analysis of a playground structure that weighs 4k and is located on the second story of a two-story concrete slab-column building in the Bay Area (California). The frame elements are galvanized pipe sections with base plates anchored into the elevated slab. I need to know what seismic loading to apply in the model for this grid structure. Since it essentially has no diaphragms, I assume I should load it with the mass of each element. However, I have no experience with this type of lateral loading, so I would appreciate any quick and direct answers to help me analyze this structure and move forward. Thank you.
pic_qkdqvf.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'd use 100 psf in addition to the equipment.

-----*****-----
So strange to see the singularity approaching while the entire planet is rapidly turning into a hellscape. -John Coates

-Dik

This would fall under the category of an amusement structure under ASCE 7. So for seismic R = 2.5, Omega = 2.5, Cd = 2.5.

I think as dik pointed out, 100 psf for your live load, and then use the appropriate fraction of that to add to your effective seismic weight as per the code. The problem with these types of structures is that you do not have a clearly defined SFRS, therefore everything ends up contributing to the lateral load resistance (and needs to be designed for these loads). As for how to apply the load, one of the ways to do it would be to apply the calculated seismic response coefficient as an acceleration.