Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

What limits video resolution?

Status
Not open for further replies.

curtis74

Automotive
Sep 28, 2007
US
I am not an electronics person by any means, I'm an automotive engineer, but I wondered what is the current limit of video resolution and why? Is it the physical size of the pixel that limits us? Are there any emerging technologies that might make it much finer in the near future? I have an idea for a small video display with a very high resolution and wondered if its something I should pursue. If you folks could maybe enlighten me I would appreciate it since I'm (obviously) a little behind on these things.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Lots of confluences:
wavelength of light
size of transistors
size of metallization
resistance of metallization
etc.

TTFN

FAQ731-376

Curtis, you're at a disadvantage if you don't know how a color television tube works. To start learning, look up 'electron gun' and 'shadow mask'. Got all that? Okay, forget it; it's old technology.

But LCD displays and such still have physical limits imposed on them, in analogous ways, all having to do with limiting the area of stuff that's excited, or individually addressing the sheer number of pixels that need to be switched, or just getting all the bits in a row on one wire, or three, or eight, and changing them and shifting them along the wire fast enough to maintain a decent frame rate, and... you probably have some reading to do.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

LOTS of reading, I'm sure.