Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

What maks us want to do fatigue analysis? 1

BeBtrEngeer

Mechanical
Jun 7, 2024
PL
Hi everyone,

I have just joined (although I've been using the knowledge here for a few years already).

I've got a very short question necessitated by wildely differing approaches that have appeared at my job (by two analysts). One has compiled a report focusing on fatigue calculations only, the other proceeds with static nonlinear (due to contacts) only for certain structure.

The question - what set of circumstances makes it - (a) required (b)potentialy wanted - for fatigue calculations to be had for a structure? It's a general question.

I've searched the internet but couldn't come up with the guidelines as to when do the calculations (blurred lines to be expected)and when to forgo them.

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Well, if the structure is going to be subjected to relatively long-lasting cyclic (repetitive) loads then it would be nice to check it for fatigue. Many industries require this for various components. Often physical testing is necessary but at least fatigue analyses on FEA models should be carried out if possible (and if loading is too complex to rely on hand calculations).

If you think the part will be subject to significant oscillating loads ... then you should do a fatigue analysis.

If fatigue analysis is the tool in your toolbox ... then you will do a fatigue analysis.

Different people have different interests, and exploit those interests in their work. If the boss allows this situation, then learnt what you can !

"Hoffen wir mal, dass alles gut geht !"
General Paulus, Nov 1942, outside Stalingrad after the launch of Operation Uranus.