Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

When a you as a young engineer disagrees with your boss 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

aust1

Mechanical
May 4, 2011
Hi,

I'm a young graduate, a couple of years experience.

I recently disagreed with my boss over a critical weld in a design.

I noted it in my diary, did what he said and issued the report.

I still think I am right. What's the best to do in these situations?

Will my diary entry hold up in court if something goes wrong?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'd repost your question in forum732, then red flag this one for deletion. You will get better responses in the proper forums.

"Art without engineering is dreaming; Engineering without art is calculating."

Have you read faq731-376 to make the best use of these Forums?

Agree with MadMango, but also offer this.

If you think you're right, do your homework and prove it. Once done, go to your boss and tell him that you yielded to his experience, but from what you had found, your assessment seemed to be the correct one. Ask him to explain, for your understanding, why he chose his answer and why your answer might not be correct. Let him know that you are still learning and need to know, in the course of your professional development, why certain decisions are made the way they are.

You might find that he's right. If so, thank him for his time. If you both agree that you were right, then you ask him what course of action should be taken to correct the report.

No need to get adversarial. You just want to get across that you are asking for your professional development, not for his embarrassment.