Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Where can I find a good overview for popular coating materials and methods? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

gao7857

Mechanical
Aug 16, 2010
US
Thanks.
I am new to coating materials and methods. But our product has recent need to get new coating material and method. So I am trying to get myself educated a little more besides my basic chemistry and polymer knowledge. Our product is zinc galvanized steel part.
There are so many coating materials and methods existing. I am trying to find a good overview (such as a link or a link to the pdf, ppt) of the popular methods and the method's major material. It will be greater to know about the cost differences, quality difference, etc. between the methods, too.

Thanks,
Young

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hm, some good reading would be:

"Corrosion Prevention by Protective Coatings" by Chuck Munger and Lou Vincent

then

"Protective Coatings, Fundamentals of Chemistry and Composition" by Clive Hare

If you make your way through those, head for

"Paint Film Degradation, Mechanisms and Control" by Clive Hare

TomDOT,
Thanks for your suggestion! It is quite good a series of reading after reading the descriptions. I was trying to find the table of contents of the books but cannot find it for any one of them.
Is the book written by the author in chapters systematically? or is edited by the author from a collection of journals and publications or others?