Where did you learn Pro E? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

toro45

Electrical
Dec 16, 2003
US
Hello,

I am an electrical design engineer, who would like to learn Pro E. I know Autocad and Micro Station and I sense these cad programs are quite different from Pro E. I would like to know what the differences are and how did you actually learn using the software. I am looking for classes in the Philadelphia, PA region, it will be appreciated if anyone can suggest a school that has Pro E classes.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Pro/E works in a slightly different way.

It is a 3D program, while ACAD and MicroStation are mostly used for 2D design.

Pro/E is a parametric program, while other two aren't.

I learnt to use Pro/E at university in France and Canada.

Cyril Guichard
Mechanical Engineer

I learnt it by just using it with various tutorials that I obtained on the internet. I didn't find it particularly difficult to pick up.

Jeff

:)

It's all part of life's rich tapestry!

Hello,

If you are already conversant with CAD, although 2D, you should be able to learn Pro-E quite easily, as you are still drawing (sketching) 2d to obtain the 3D effect. We had a PTC guy come in, for free, and go through the training manual in a couple of days. This gave us a good starting point.

----------------------------------
Hope this helps.
----------------------------------

maybe only a drafter
but the best user at this company!

I would seriously look into learning another 3D CAD package such as SolidWorks or SolidEdge. They are every bit as powerful as WildFire and much, much more user friendly.

I realize this will set peoples blood boiling in this forum, but having used all these packages I'm making an educated statement.

I agree with you rockguy, but from what I understand, our friend toro doesn't have choice for his CAD package...

Cyril Guichard
Mechanical Engineer Consultant
France