Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Where to now? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

HSNIC

Structural
Apr 8, 2007
US
I am a Civil Engineer by general profession. I have a general bachelor's degree as well as a Master's degree. I have been out of work for 11 months as I was laid off January 19,2009. I am sure January 19,2010 will come along without anything on my plate.

I have more than 3.5 years mixed experience. I spent 2.5 years in site civil designing parking lots. I never really liked it so I went back to school and got the M.S.C.E. studying structures. I even left my job in 2006 to go full time to finish up by May 2007.

I was successful finding a job and began working for a firm designing underground structures, retaining walls, and the like. I spent most of my time working in the field. I took quite a bit of crap from some people at that firm. I may not be a Nobel Prize winning engineer, but I will spend the time to learn something and even cut some time off my timesheet. I had no problem with where my time went. Things fell hard and I was cut from their staff. I left against my will with 1 year 3 months experience in geotechnical Structural Engineering. I even asked if I can check with them later, and the HR man said "It does look it going to get better." I cannot believe they laid me off without giving me an option and then hired someone 2 months later.

I was able to qualify to take the P.E. exam this coming April. That's the only thing that is driving me right now. I do not think I will be able to find work in the near future. It seems like I will be in a strange predicament with only 2 years of Geo/Str work experience. I really can't stand site/civil work. I really liked geotechnical stuff. I enjoyed myself within it.

I am pretty lost right now.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

hi HSNIC