Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Which sub-discipline in mechanical to pursue? 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

jnam82

Mechanical
Jun 12, 2008
US
A little about myself... I am a fairly recent graduate (summer 06') with BSME. I worked in the HVAC/controls industry for a short while before I decided to give patent law a try and went to USPTO and experienced first hand patent law is not for me (pretty boring stuff). So now I'm thinking about going to grad school but don't know which area to specialize in. I'm thinking either HVAC, Fire protection, or Structural

Seems University of Maryland and WPI are the only two schools that offer master's in fire protection. Job outlook is good from what I hear because of new regulation and laws. Can anyone chime in about salary, job satisfaction and advancements? Is this a respectable engineering field?

Also, should I pursue the thesis or the technical mater's program? I'm thinking thesis would be useless unless I decide to do PhD.

What are some good schools for HVAC or structural programs?

Thanks for all the help

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My advice, for HVAC and Fire Protection get experience and your PE rather than a Master's degree. I do not see how going deeper into working with the Darcy Weisbach equation will give you experience in design.

My 2 cents,

MPE engineer, JPR