Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Who constitutes a client of a professional engineer? 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jim6e

Materials
Jul 13, 2024
US
Can anyone tell me where the term "client" is formally defined in the engineering profession? I am an engineer, and I am grappling with a specific case where the meaning of that term is in dispute. Here is the specific example.

A licensed professional engineer provides a locality with his signed and sealed request to modify local flood maps. The request includes engineering analysis (civil engineering stuff). The engineer was not hired by the locality for this work but rather by a separate, private client. Is there any "official" guidance that would define the locality as a client of the engineer's work in this instance?

Here is a parallel example from the legal profession. "Generally, the relation of attorney and client exists, and one is deemed to be practicing law whenever he furnishes to another advice or service under circumstances which imply his possession and use of legal
knowledge or skill."

So, if we bring that legal definition back to engineering, the professional engineer in question has mapped the local floodplain. He has used his engineering knowledge and skill to complete the task. Now, he furnishes his completed flood map to the locality. Does that establish an engineering professional - locality client relationship?

I'm not looking for individual opinion. I'm looking for a credible reference (perhaps an engineering ethics case study or a state engineering regulator document) that would allow one to reasonably answer yes or no to my question.

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you