Status
Not open for further replies.

BOUFEK

Electrical
Feb 2, 2022
NG
16519444638637707017717453800531_me8qas.jpg
Good evening sirs and Ma,
I am writing from Nigeria i am an electrical engineer, a fresher, I had a challenge yesterday with this level transmitter I wanted to check if it was working so I connected the transmitter in series with my multimeter after which I set to mA on the multimeter I was expecting it to display a value as I deep the sensor into the water but yet I didn't get any value other than 0000 and when i measured the voltage there was 24V DC

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

16519449202894700992675811788667_ozwkdg.jpg
please I also tried using a clamp meter it didn't work, please is there any way else I can test if this device is working or not, thank you I really appreciate your contributions to and suggestions.

Is that even a pressure transducer or is it an ultrasonic transducer? If pressure it's cable length is absurd.

Have you got a model number for this?

IRstuff - he wrote that he has this in series, so shouldn't the impedance of the meter be low?

I first thought he was using this to read the sensor directly and didn't apply the loop voltage, just the voltage to power the sensor, but when he mentioned series connection I thought that might not be the case.

A model number for the sensor would be a big help; maybe he will call in again.

A photo of a housing with a probe does not identify what technology or what type of transmitter is involved.

Is it a 2-wire loop powered transmitter?
Or is a 3-wire voltage output transmitter?
How do you know the output is 4-20mA and not Profibus, Foundation Fieldbus or Modbus?