Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Why did my power tool burn out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GullyL

Mechanical
Jan 3, 2006
IE
I am a mechanical engineer with very basic understanding of electrical motors.

I was working with a brand new drill the other day and it burnt out. It caused a lot of smoke. When I opened it up I noticed that the insulation around the coils on the stator and the armature are burnt off, but the armature seems to rotate freely in the stator. I had originally thought that there must have been some friction between the two causing overheating, but this doesn't seem to be the problem. I replaced it under warranty, but was interested in how this could have happened.

Any ideas on what may have caused this? Bear in mind this is a brand new tool and died 5min into use. I wondered whether it may have been a short between the coils of either the stator or armature?

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Probably. Most home power tools are marginally constructed to begin with. Any minor error can result in rapid failure.

Eng-Tips: Help for your job, not for your homework Read faq731-376 [pirate]

Could be just a bad unit (shorted windings, bad insulaton etc) to begin with... (most likely reason)

Home tools are not intended for continuous use..or they can easily overheat..Not sure if you used continously under load.

May be the way it was used, it caused it draw excessive current.

5 minutes of doing what? Driving a 6" core drill into concrete, or just a [¼]" bit into wood? There are many ways to kill a drill even if it was perfect when it left the factory. Was it a reputable brand? Take it back and get a refund if you haven't abused it.

----------------------------------
image.php
Your body might be a temple. Mine is an amusement park...