Why do faults result in an arc on high-voltage systems? 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

ee_123456

Electrical
Feb 4, 2022
US
Hello All,

I am a young engineer trying to wrap my head around arc flash protection within substations.

Here is a simple hypothetical.

Say you have a 138 kV 3-phase breaker with the following spacing:
Phase-phase = 6 foot
Phase-ground = 7 foot

Now if you got a jumper (let's be theoretical here) and shorted all the breaker windings together, you would have a 3 phase fault and it would produce a huge flash of electricity and an arc.

I am trying to understand, why does this arc form? From what I understand, the arc energy is heavily dependent upon your arc gap. However, at 138 kV LL, and given the dielectric breakdown of air is 3 kV/mm.
The phase-phase spacing being 6 feet or 1800 mm, I am calculating you'd need 5400 kV to ionize the air and produce that big flash of electricity that we typically see with faults. So then how are you ionizing the air? and producing an arc flash ? The same logic applies for say a 230 kV transmission line where a fault produces an arc, but the phase spacings can be like 10 or 11 feet long so theoretically your spacing is too high to ionize the air.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Something other than air enters into what you're thinking of as just air.

I’ll see your silver lining and raise you two black clouds. - Protection Operations

Lets say this is a aluminum terminal/bushing.

Are you saying that as the current is heating (and potentially melting) say the aluminum, that is affecting the dielectric breakdown therefore you have less kv/mm for the fault to arc?