Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Why everyvody hates NC contacts? 6

Status
Not open for further replies.

tszpun

Industrial
Oct 22, 2013
QA
I heard one of my colleaugue saying that ENGINEERS HATE NORMALLY CLOSED CONTACTS. Is it true? If yes could somebody explain me the reason?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

NC contacts have very good uses. Without NC contacts, a lockout relay couldn't block close, it could only trip. Without NC contacts, how do you get the green light when a breaker is open? The statement is just a bunch of crock. Sure, an NO contact is a better choice for many things, but there are things that just can't be done without NC contacts.

I’ll see your silver lining and raise you two black clouds. - Protection Operations

The statement made in the original post is a generalization. Generalizations are often easy to disprove. I am an engineer, and I don't hate NC contacts, so the initial statement that engineers hate NC contacts is proven false by one counterexample.

There are many applications for NC contacts in addition to those davidbeach gave.

NC contacts are the preferred contacts for many stop and emergency stop functions, since opening the contacts removes power from equipment. This is a fail-safe function that allows the same stop operation as if an open occurred in a control circuit.

NC contacts are the preferred contacts for many start functions, too. It isn't easy to get an action to start with a NO process switch using hard-wired logic; it's much easier if a NC switch is used. For example, NC low level switches are often used to start a pump or open a valve to fill a vessel because they can be open during vessel drawdown, i.e., the level switch has been activated by the process liquid, then close when the level drops below the set point. Same goes for turning on conveyors, fans, etc., - a NC switch may be needed for such applications.

Many other examples exist...