Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Why is my RF circuit behaving like this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thomaskuhn

Computer
Sep 20, 2010
US
I am not an RF engineer but play one at work. I am working in uhf SatCom. In the lab, In order to test two radios communicating over a satellite, I built a small RF circuit out of cots components. I basically put a mixer between the two radios and inject the delta of the uplink and downlink frequency ( one radio also has discrete inputs and outputs so I use a circulator to split that out). Finally there are some attenuators so I'd do not blow anything up.

Here is the strange thing. I can use this circuit for most of my testing when I operate in SBPSK 2400bps. Also in CPM 2400 - 56kbps. BUT, if I operate in FSK 16k, the receiver will not get the transmission. No RX shows up.

Then I noticed that if I unscrew the N connector JUST enough ( most likely when the center connector is no longer engaged) but the shell is still on, reception all of the sudden works perfectly fine. My theory is that it is now tiny antennas vs. a solid connection) What is causing this? And is there another RF component that I should put in to properly replicate this condition? If so what is it called?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I am currently TX at 24dBm and I have 33dB of attenuators. The receiver is -10dBm to -80dBm. I "think" I tried it earlier with a different setup with 50dB attenuation with the same results.

Hi. :)

ViaSat offers the DOCCT/S UHF MilSatCom satellite (entire path) simulator, but they're 6-figures expensive. These systems do everything, far more than you might need for simple testing.