Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Why is part geometry a .jpg in Pro-E created .dwg?

Status
Not open for further replies.

YoungMfg

Mechanical
Jan 13, 2009
US
Hi,

I have a customer who sent me a .dwg print for a part he created in Pro-E. I have no experience with Pro-E and he is new to it, so hopefully one of you can help.

The problem is that the part itself is a .jpg. Everything else (dim's, title block) are regular vector lines. Is there some setting he needs to change to get the part to insert as vector lines and not a .jpg?

I hope that made sense! Thanks for any help.

-schmidty

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

First of all, let's figure out what software you are both using. A .dwg file is an AutoCAD file, not a Pro/E file. So are you opening this file in Pro/E (which is possible within limitations) or are you using AutoCAD or something else?

Second, the only way a Pro/E drawing would contain a jpeg file is if it was imported into the drawing. In that case it sounds like your customer has not actually modeled anything, just stuck a picture in. One of you is going to have to do the hard work of making a useful model and drawing. It is possible to use a jpeg in Pro/E as a guide to create useful geometry but there is no way to ensure it is actually geometrically correct.

Sorry, yes, I am using AutoCAD. My customer is using Pro-E and exporting the print as a .dwg.

I understand what you are saying about the jpeg. I suspected that they have a picture of a part, and just brought it into Pro-E, put a title block and border around it and then dimmensioned the part features as close as they could by eye. But, not knowing Pro-E, I thought I would get some advice as to what may be going on here.