Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Why not MATLAB for FEA? 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi all,
Instead of spending heavily on the Finite Element packages is it not possible to write code in MATLAB for the finite element analysis? Except those pretty picrues we can get good results I guess. I am just a beginner in FEA. I wanted to know whether one can write code in MATLAB as FEA has to basically to deal with matrices and MATLAB is a good tool for matrix manipulations. All this assuming one has strong fundamentals in FEA.
Comments awaited from experts.

simulator

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi fea_pandit,
To your question : "Instead of spending heavily on the Finite Element packages is it not possible to write code in MATLAB for the finite element analysis?"
Did you know, since when is MATLAB so powerful like now? To my know, it is still not long time ago. But the finite element programm written in FORTRAN (NASTRAN & ANSYS) did exist for more then 20 years at least.
Surely, it is not a great problem to write FEM-Program in MATLAB, even it is easier, then all Matrix functions are there. Some Universities offer their FEM-Programm written in MATLAB. Or some professional Software firms like : has written MATLAB even for multiphysik problems. But don't forget, like all other engineering tools, the engineer prefer one tools that he knows well to newly developed tools (strange). I think, this is also the same case in FEM-Program.
Yet another thing : MATLAB is more slowlier compare to other programming language, isn't it?

cheers