Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Why should I become a Leader? 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

pandamon

Mechanical
Jul 1, 2012
AU
I'm an engineer and my dream is to design products that will provide solutions to problems our world faces.
Sometimes I question myself, why can't I just become a team member, why must I strive to be the leader of my team instead? Are there any benefits of becoming a leader? And will being a leader help make my dream come true?
I can see the draw backs alright, such as the extra responsibilities, time and sweat put in, but there's also benefits such as glory, but is there more to wanting to become a leader than just glory?
Why do people want to become leaders in the first place?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Because different personalities get their kicks in different ways.

The shouty ones enjoy shouting more than engineering, so they shout at everybody else that they too should want to be shouters, because shouter-wannabees are easier to motivate than engineers.

Me, I roll up for work, get paid less than the shouters, and have fun. My choice.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376

"Are there any benefits of becoming a leader?" > well, you more or less get to have things done your way, and you don't have to put up with someone else's (pitiful, failed, etc) attempts at leadership ...

"And will being a leader help make my dream come true?" > maybe but likely not; its a job for cripes sake. how long have you been out of school?