Will Centrifugal Compressor Pulls Vacuum at Suction

Status
Not open for further replies.

DoraeS

Petroleum
Mar 8, 2004
NL
Hi,

I am a process engineer and I would like to know when a centrifugal compressor suction is blocked, will the compressor pulls vacuum at its suction?
I have heard that a reciprocating compressor will create vacuum at its suction, is this true?

Please help.

Thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I think not, if it is below its surge limit.
Like an airplane wing, a certain gas density and speed combination is required to begin to develop useful lift, or impart work to the gas being compressed.

"People will work for you with blood and sweat and tears if they work for what they believe in......" - Simon Sinek

Any dynamic compressor such as a centrifugal or an ejector will have a pretty narrow suction range where it will work. Slightly outside that range will significantly impact mass flow rate. Considerably outside that range and mass flow rate drops to zero. I was recently awarded a patent for a very specific case of ejector, and in our testing we found that stopping suction flow actually increased the indicated suction pressure. I would expect something like that to happen with a centrifugal compressor as it went into surge.