Wind load on decktop of floating vessels ? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SKJ25POL

Structural
Mar 4, 2011
US
Dear marine folks,
I am a structural engineer that recently been assigned to design a canopy/shed on top of a "Dock Barge".
I have dealt with structures on land but not floating objects like boats, ships and barges.
This is a river barge. I am trying to find appropriate code and source to get the wind load and other possible loads on the barge but unfortunately failed to find right and applicable code and reference.

Only what I found is ABS "Rules for Building and Classing - Steel Vessels for Service on Rivers and intercoastal waterways" which is NOT directing where we get the load especially the wind load to design a deckhouse.

I appreciate if anybody has a source or direction for me.
The barge is in a river in Illinios United States. I am looking for U.S. resources and applicable codes.
Curious when they design ships what wind load they use?

I am not trying to step on anyones toes by not being a marine engineer, just trying to complete my assignement.
Very much appreciate it for your kind assistance.

Sincerely,
Your Collegaue

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

To be classed and approved by ABS, the rules u are using is right.
wind load is based on wind pressure and projection area of the subject strcture. u can refer to the rule 3-3-2/3.3.1 in page 122 for the formula of wind pressure. this formula applies to wind heeling moment and also apply to wind load calculation.

Dear Jason8zhu (Marine/Ocean),
Thank you for your response. By the chance do you have those pages on wind load u can attach?
I am not finding them.
If u like u can attach whole document since is free and okay to distribute

Thank you very much

P.S. Any handbook you know that they have an example or even just talked about it?