Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wind loads - servicaebility and ultimate 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

ndrstruct

Structural
Aug 10, 2023
IN
Hi, I am new to this forum and I am new to Australian standards. For wind load calculations, I have seen serviceability and ultimate wind speed. I am wondering why there are two categories for wind. Where to use this serviceability wind loads?

Thankyou

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not familiar with Australian standards, but I can give some background on the ASCE methods for this. Seems like the philosophy would be similar.

The main body of ASCE 7 has wind speeds that correspond to various very long mean recurrence intervals. These are used for strength and stability -- safety -- checks. That's probably what is meant by "ultimate" in your post.

Appendix CC, Figure CC.2-2, has 10-year mean recurrent interval wind speeds that are much lower than the ones mentioned above. These can be used for wind drift serviceability. Because this isn't about life safety, the loads can be reduced. Also, I'm pretty sure this part of ASCE 7 isn't mandatory whereas the ones mentioned above are.

Also only work with ASCE, but I'll take a stab it in slightly different wording:

Serviceability is about comfort and maintenance. How much does the building sway? Can occupants notice it? Does it crack the plaster?