Window Protection for Fire escape in Residential Building 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

bob smith

Materials
Jun 12, 2020
US
Hello,
I am a student learning fire sprinklers. We have a project involving a four story building that is existing. They are calling for just sprinklers at the windows for protection near the fire escape. Can I use regular standard fire sprinklers? Each floor consist of 5 windows that will need protection and they are about 8' apart. Sorry for the newbie question just trying to learn the trade and see what everyone's thoughts are on this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Good for learning!!!

So is this in the USA?

What kind of class is this,,, Subject/ discipline?????

Is this just a conceptual idea??

Are you placing the sprinklers inside the building or outside the building?

Normally, what you are asking is not done.

Can regular sprinklers be used. I am guessing it is more exposure protection due to the fire escape. And if I can use regular sprinklers I would calculate 3 gpm times the linear footage of separation. Or am I reading that all wrong?

Sorry not exposure protection but egress protection.. There isnt a building next to this one. Just a fire escape and windows next to the fire escape

What kind of class is this,,, Subject/ discipline?????

Is this just a conceptual idea??

Are you placing the sprinklers inside the building or outside the building?

Normally, what you are asking is not done.

Yes just aq conceptual right now. Taking an architectural engineering class at a little technical college and we are going over fire protection.
The idea is to have sprinklers just on the inside. This is a residential building apartments that are existing and they are rehabbing. No other sprinklers around just for the fire escape.

So no other sprinklers will be in the building?

Unless the fire starts very near those sprinklers at the escape,