Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wire Rope Ratings

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josh2008

Mechanical
Sep 25, 2008
CA
Hello all,

I'm new to lifting and rigging, and I'm checking equipment spec'd out by a designer.

A wire rope sling with an end looped and crimped by a swaging sleeve that passes through a shackle creates a very tight bend radius. Bend radius' reduce the strength of the wire rope. I have found D/d ratios recommended for different constructions of ropes, but due to this type of connection and application, the calculated ratio is very small. How is this typically put in practice? Most commonly the wire ropes pass over large sheaves, therefore the ratios are high and meet literature recommendations (such as the Wire Rope User Manual), however this isn't my case.

Any suggestions on how to properly check this, or other literature to reference?

To be honest, I'm starting to think that swage fittings and shackles might not be the best duo. Maybe an open spelter socket is better, as there would be no induced rope bend.

Attached is a picture of the application I'm referring to.

J

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Josh:
I’m old enough so I don’t buy every edition of every new code on every topic, I buy them if and when I need one. You might want to look for the ASME codes on Below the Hook Lifting Equip., OSHA, and various industry standards. Look for other threads here and on the Struct. forum for rigging, lifting, lifting lugs, spreader beams, and the like.