Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Wood cutting in tight spaces

Status
Not open for further replies.

ASOT

Electrical
Jul 23, 2020
NO
Hello,

I am new to the forum, I am a educated electrical engineer/technician. Reason its either is that its a few points of bachelor. Enough of that.

I have a problem that requires me to cut a 1.5" piece of wood for about 8,5m in really tight sace (between to buildings 6cm ish space).

I couldnt find any dedicated forum for this so remove if missplaced.

I have concluded that I need a wire cutting tool. or a very long saw. any tips?

thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Interesting problem.
Likely there are lots of folks out there smarter than me and have better solutions.
Solution really depends on your accuracy, cut quality, and cost limits.

But over my bleary-eyed morning coffee I envisioned a DIY rig with a pulley on each end of the board through which an abrasive wire is run. Kind of like a chain saw operation but not as much hassle.
Websearch for "diamond wire" or "abrasive wire."

(sips coffee and ponders more...)

Or...purchase a spool of bandsaw blade stock. Cut to length, weld it together, and rig up a pulley system. Make a big DIY horizontal bandsaw for one-time use.

TygerDawg
Blue Technik LLC
Virtuoso Robotics Engineering

Let's clarify your problem:

Piece of wood 1.5" (3.8 cm) thick that is to be ripped lengthwise.
The length of the wood is 8.5 m (334.6" or 27.9')
The piece of wood is about 3.26" (6 cm) wide where the "saw" would have to fit between two buildings.

How far from the edge of the wood is the saw cut (near center, edge or no preference)?
Is both the top and underside of the wood accessible for a saw?